Like many of us, when I open up Facebook each morning I’ve made it a habit to check my friends’ birthdays and give them a standard shoutout. But last week when I went to wish one of my friends a splendid birthday, I saw something new:

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 3.48.14 PM

Send her a Starbucks birthday present? Hm.

So I clicked.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 3.49.38 PM

What a brilliant idea. Gone are the days of paying $1 to gift your friend a worthless Facebook image of a cupcake. Now you can easily buy them a real gift that’s delivered real time. Because let’s face it – we don’t know it’s anyone’s birthday until we see it on Facebook anyway.

Facebook didn’t stop there. What was yesterday? Valentine’s Day. What was at the top of my news feed? The option to buy a gift.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 3.54.04 PM

The gifts were sweet, fun, and funny. And incredibly affordable.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 3.55.40 PM

While I do think Facebook missed an opportunity for waiting until the day-of the holiday to place the “Choose a Gift” option on the site, it’s quite fun. Have any of you received a Facebook Gift yet? How’d it go?

