As a marketer who has been put in charge of several client’s Pinterest accounts I have dove head first into the pinning world. Glamour, recipes, and crafts galore! In fact, I am a more stylish and handy chef than I ever was before the social media site existed.

However, not only have I become a craftier individual since endeavoring in the Pinterest world, I have also become a better person. Yes, this social media platform filled with visual stimulation and motivation has empowered me to live a better life. Curious on how my life has changed since I have begun pinning? Continue reading to check out the 4 lessons I have learned from this social media giant.

1. Never underestimate the power of planning ahead.

In life, spontaneity can be a good thing. However, there are also times when planning is necessary. For example, a rehearsed speech would have been a great idea when I was the maid of honor in a wedding. Not only could everyone in the room hear me swallow because it was so quiet (my jokes did NOT incite laughter) but my stage fright pit stains showed in every picture taken that night.

This same philosophy can be applied to Pinterest. When creating boards, be strategic. Anticipate what type of information your customers would enjoy and think before you pin. I promise that the results of a well thought out board with a solid theme will be more successful than one you just decided on a whim would be a good idea.

2. Always credit your sources.

As Benjamin Franklin once said, “There is much difference between imitating a man and counterfeiting him.”

See what I just did there? Give credit, people… nobody likes a thief.

3. Connect with your community.

One of the best ways to gain more followers on Pinterest is by connecting with your fellow pinners. Not only will your audience increase but so will your repins. If you ask me, word of mouth marketing is the best approach and will only increase your like-ability. And isn’t this something we would all like in our personal life… to be liked?

4. Quit talking about yourself. 

We all have that dreaded friend who only talks about themselves. In fact, anytime you see their name on your cell phone caller ID you can’t help but roll your eyes. This involuntary reaction is a result of an annoying predictability that you friend presents. Don’t be THAT friend on Pinterest. Pin others away and I promise people will be engaged. In fact, some of my most interesting friends are those who tell great stories about OTHER people.

Have you gained any life lessons through Pinterest or other social media sites? We’d love to hear about them!

