I’m not a very public person.  I’m listed in a couple of public websites, I’ve written a few things and have been featured in several articles.

Out of curiosity, I typed in my name to see what Google would show about me. Because I have a fairly uncommon last name, 6 of the 10 first page results indeed related to me.

Of those, 5 of the 6 were social media related posts or links. Business and social networking sites are changing the paradigm of Search Engine Marketing.

I tried this with several other business associates whom I know have a lot more cachet and visibility in business.  Most had only 1 or 2 results.

Try it for yourself.  You may be surprised what search engines find about you.  For instance, one result for my name, indicated “a prisoner in federal custody.”  Same name, but not me.  Really?  Did I mention you can’t control exactly what results are posted?

